About The Foundation

Our Mission

The National D-Day Memorial Foundation’s mission is to preserve the lessons and legacy of D-Day. The Foundation maintains and operates the National D-Day Memorial in direct support of that educational mission. In so doing, the Foundation (1) ensures the integrity and security of our nation’s memorial to the valor, fidelity, and sacrifice of the Allied Forces on D-Day, 6 June 1944; (2) promotes recognition of the character traits undergirding the Allied effort on D-Day; and (3) sponsors commemorations, programs, projects, and exhibitions that foster appreciation of D-Day’s historical and residual significance.

National D-Day Memorial Foundation Board of Directors 


John Elnitsky
Senior VP of Engineering & Technical Services (Ret.),
Entergy Nuclear 


Carroll Moon
Chief Technology Officer & Co-Founder,
CloudFit Software 


Dr. John C. McManus
Curators’ Distinguished Professor of U.S. Military History,
Missouri University of Science & Technology


Mary Zirkle
Director of Planning & Community Development,
Town of Bedford, VA

 President & CEO

April Cheek-Messier
National D-Day Memorial Foundation


MG Mari K. Eder
U.S. Army (Ret.)

RADM David Hahn
U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Senior VP of Engineering & Technical Services,
Entergy Nuclear

Herschel Keller
Gentry Locke Attorneys

Chet McPhatter
Banker Steel

Dan Stoddard
Senior VP & Chief Nuclear Officer (Ret.),
Dominion Energy 

Katherine Williams
President & CEO (Ret.),
Framatome, Inc.

The Foundation respectfully requests that all mail addressed
to Board Members be sent to their attention at:
National D-Day Memorial, P.O. Box 77, Bedford, Virginia  24523


April Cheek-Messier
President & CEO

Tara Warner
Chief of Staff


Robin VanHorn
Director of Administration

Andrea Cook, SHRM-CP
Human Resources Administrator

Deborah Thompson


Courtney Hunter Godsey
Director of Development

Kimberly Wolfe
Associate Director of Development

Brianna Thompson
Annual Giving Coordinator

Elisabeth Phillips
Development Assistant


Angela Hatcher Lynch
Director of Communications


John Long
Director of Education

Adam Nubbe
Education & Digital Learning Coordinator

Mitchell Gehman
Education & Public Outreach Coordinator

Memorial Site

Sandra Parece
Director of Site Operations

Heather Mitchell
Assistant Site Manager/Volunteer Coordinator

Kristopher Stober
Facilities Manager

Joe Bidlow
Retail Manager

For Media Inquiries

(540) 875-2854

For All Other Inquiries

(540) 586-3329