Medal of Honor Garden

For more than twenty years, the National D-Day Memorial has proudly shared the stories of those who died on D-Day while honoring those who lived to fight another day.

The National D-Day Memorial has embarked on a new initiative to install a Medal of Honor Garden which will pay tribute to the four Medal of Honor recipients from D-Day, 6 June 1944.

  • First Lieutenant Jimmie W. Monteith Jr. – Virginia
  • Private Carlton W. Barrett – New York
  • Technician Fifth Grade John J. Pinder Jr – Pennsylvania
  • Brigadier General Theodore Roosevelt Jr. – Pennsylvania

The Medal of Honor Garden will feature a bronze plaque on each recipient. In addition to the four Medal of Honor recipients, the garden will feature a plaque to the last surviving Medal of Honor recipient from WWII, the late Hershel “Woody” Williams. Williams was instrumental in spearheading the design and installation of the Gold Star Families Monument at the Memorial. The Memorial’s first addition to the Medal of Honor Garden will be a bronze plaque on Jimmie W. Monteith.